Assumptions Flying

Want a little humor/ praise God for your afternoon?

A bit unexpectedly I found myself in need of a passport fairly quickly. I did the necessary research to find out how to make that possible and with documents in hand I set off for the local post office. I get there and the copy machine wouldn’t accept my money. I asked the lady at the counter for assistance to which she refused on account she didn’t know anything about the machine. Coming to my rescue was an older gentleman. He exchanged my perfectly crips dollar bill for four shiny quarters. “Ok, breath Nicci you know how to run a copy machine. Why are your hands so sweaty and why do you feel so nervous. Get a grip!” That was what was going through my mind as I walked back up to the counter. I overheard the lady who would be doing my passport processing “Well I’m waiting on that Amish girl.”

I breathed a deep breath and proceeded to the counter. “Hi I’m here for my passport appointment.”

The Taiwanese woman without a smile says “You leave on June 9th there no way you get passport by then! You Amish never plan,you need to pay extra money to get it by June 9th even then it may not come.” I explained that I had my two checks for the amount I needed to pay to the two separate places plus $15 for my photo. She says “You need to pay an additional $50 if you want to get it quick. You no plan and need it quickly.” This went on for a while and as she spoke at lightning speed I could feel myself on the brink of tears. As she spoke my mind was trying to add up the amount of money I needed and I knew I didn’t have enough (she kept adding fees that were not in my research). I told her that I’d need to come back another day. She said “You cannot just leave and come back another day! You need to make another appointment and plus you need your passport now! You stay and pay.” Literally I was about to cry and a line was forming. I looked at her and said “I have done my research. I’m not paying anything about what my two checks that I have with me we are for plus my $15.” She agreed then started looking over my forms. “You mother has no middle name? Why you no put her middle name?” She inquired. I tell her that she has no middle name.”

We go back to the back room to take the picture. And she says “You Amish,you wear your Amish hat all the time? “I’m not Amish I’m German Baptist. I wear my head covering at all reasonable times. The only time I Don’t is when I’m sleeping or swimming.” She shoots back “You Amish also don’t wear it in the shower.” Me “Yes that’s right.”

I get the picture and we head back up to the window. At this point I’m just done. She’s rude,not helpful,and I truly freaking out about it arriving on time…and I promise if she calls me Amish one more time I’m got o punch her( ok, not really because I’m non violent but I was fighting my flesh at this point.). She then starts the processing part and asks about why I don’t have an Ohio drivers license. I started to explain and decided to just say “Look if I explained to you, you’d think I was lying .” She gave me a look. Then I hear as if an angel out of no where someone calling my name! Sweet Rose was in the other line and I just said “Oh I’m so glad you’re here! I need a hug!” Just seeing a familiar face with a smile melted my flustered spirit! I have no doubts that God sent her to bring me encouragement when I was about to lose my cool.

What truly was the root of my frustration wasn’t that I was being called Amish,although more than once after being corrected does bother me a little. It was her trying to keep charging me more and more and just plain being rude. I had no control over the fact I needed a passport quickly. She had no clue what my situation was. She chose to judge me based on how I looked and how she thinks I practice religion. If I were to do that in return to her or even a Muslim I’d be a racist or something the like. The only time I have ever had negative reactions to being “plain” has been in Troy. I don’t know the light that “our people” or others similar give to those that we meet but I sure hope her reaction wasn’t due to a past experience with us.

Yes, I admit that my feelings about her in the moment were not favorable and I repent of that. I hope that through it that my smile and desperate attempt to win her over will have some effect. Kill people with kindness folks! A smile can change a day and a frown can ruin one.

All in all I find it humorous “You doesn’t wear your hat in the shower!” Bawhahaha

As some of you know I will be spending 45 days working with a family and their child that has RAD (reactive attachment disorder) in Georgia. The opportunity came up to go to Canada first to work with/and gain hands on experience with another respite care providers while the child is in her care. I’m looking forward to this opportunity to not only go out of the country for the first time but to gain valuable knowledge for the future. God has opened door after door answering prayers right at the perfect moment! The past few months have been heart stretching. I ask for prayers for myself as I face new challenges and also that I have strength for each new day! Please also lift the family and their son up in prayer. His heart and brain require a lot of healing.

Much love,Pilgrim Nicci

2 thoughts on “Assumptions Flying

  1. Renita says:

    Hi Nicci,
    I read your repost in MennoWorld and then clicked over here. For context I was raised Mennonite (MCUSA) and have worked in Shipshewana and lived in Goshen but never dressed plainly.
    On the whole I agree with you – Amish/plain dress is not a costume or a romance novel cover. It’s not something to jump into because you like the clothes.

    I did want to address this: “If I were to do that in return to her or even a Muslim I’d be a racist or something the like.”

    It’s very frustrating when people judge you by how you look. I’m sure you’re really tired of explaining that you’re not Amish – I get tired of explaining I’M not Amish, and I wear pants and jewelry and have short hair. But please don’t compare that to racism. We have no real concept of what nonwhite people and Muslims experience in this country every day. We’re still white, still Christian, and still in positions of cultural power, even if part of a misunderstood sect.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi there, Thank you for your comments and your willingness to share your perspective. 💕

      I was not trying to say that I face what they do. I am abundantly aware of my position in life. I do not wish to play a victim card when I am not a victim. However it would stand that if I were working with the public and I made a commitment starting out with “You Muslims” or to make a comment about their head covering then yes I would be considered a something negative. Just because I’m a “privileged white Christian” doesn’t mean that unkind things and comments don’t happen based on my skin color or religious fellowship. This is just one of a few situations where I was unfairly treated because I wore this particular covering. Once again I do understand that I don’t know what anyone else goes through and yes on any given day I’m treated with the upmost respect. I don’t live day to day in fear but that doesn’t change the fact her comments were wrong and if I were to have said the same thing I could potentially get into trouble or lose my job.

      Blessings,Pilgrim Nicci

      Like

Leave a comment